Home > social tools, Stephen Hamilton > Master Social Media in 2 minutes

Master Social Media in 2 minutes

September 18, 2009

If you blog, or engage in any form of social media activity, you should take 2 minutes to learn from Kathy Sierra by looking at the slides below.

If you’re thinking about starting a blog etc, you should know this too.

Note to self: How am I doing in this regard?
[Bonus Link] Here is a cool wiki on Social Media Monitoring Tools

  1. October 8, 2009 at 9:16 am | #1

    This was great, Stephen. Many thanks for posting it. I didn’t think I could learn so much in two minutes. Man was I wrong?! Best regards, P. :)

  2. October 8, 2009 at 6:03 pm | #2

    No worries Paul! I’m glad others can benefit from these things I stumble across. I was a big fan of Kathy Sierra’s blog.

  3. October 13, 2009 at 1:05 pm | #3

    Stephen, Thanks for posting that. I’ve noticed a pattern with most of the blog and web sites I design for my clients: They are all fired up at launch, but as the weeks go by they need frequent pep talks to keep the site fresh and active.

    I really think that a big part of developing and designing web sites and blogs for clients is the “motivational” period after the site has been up and running for a few months. I’ll share the slide show you have here with them, it puts a lot about blogging and marketing results into perspective.
    Appreciate it,
    robert

  4. October 13, 2009 at 6:20 pm | #4

    I totally agree, Robert. This is why I try to make it clear to prospective clients that they need to treat this kind of endeavour as a marketing exercise, not an artistic exercise, and not as an IT exercise. I find this approach helps to get them into the appropriate mindset, although keeping them motivated can be a challenge, but nothing stokes their excitement like real results and tangible outcomes!

    At the risk of repeating myself, if you enjoyed these slides, check out Kathy’s “Creating Passionate Users” blog. (http://headrush.typepad.com/)

    Although I don’t think she is posting there anymore, it is full of great posts about the need to focus on your users (aka customers), not yourself.

    Thanks for commenting!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

